LETU IT KnowledgeBase

Child pages
  • Legacy-Auth Remediation
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

To continue to provide the best protection for your account possible, Microsoft will be removing support for legacy authorization (logins) for email on phones.  Legacy logins are older methods that bypass multifactor authentication.

If you're using the Outlook App for email on your phone already, this should not apply to you


If you are not using the Outlook App:

Android Users:

Native Android mail apps do not yet support secure authorization for Microsoft email. Therefore you will need to remove the LETU email account from your Android phone and install the Android Outlook App from the Play store.

iPhone Users:

if you are running iOS 11.x you can use either the default iOS mail app or the Outlook for iPhone/iOS App.  If you are running iOS 10.x or below you must use the Outlook App. In either case, you will need to first remove your LETU email account and then re-configure it to ensure your iPhone sets up the newer, modern authentication.  (steps below for iPhone)

iPhone Legacy Auth Fix Instructions

To ensure your phone is using the most current security for LETU email, you'll need to first remove your existing LETU email account from your phone by proceeding through the following steps and then setup email again either by:


(screenshots below are for an iPhone, but the same process will be required on your Android device to remove LETU from your Gmail or other email client before installing Outlook for Android.


1.  Remove your old LETU email account from your phone.  The easiest way to do this is to go to the "Settings" app on your respective phone and locate your LETU account.

        

2.  Once that old account is removed, iPhone users can re-add it as follows:

        

3.  Enter your email address and a description for the account.  When you click 'Sign In' you'll be prompted for your password and to authenticate.

        

4.  After approving the request, you'll be prompted to select items that you want to sync, and then you should choose 'Save'.  Once completed, your account should be using the correct security methods.

        

  • No labels